top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassandra Cinque

A New Solo Show - Stephen Barnwell



"A few months ago, I applied for a solo exhibition with Monmouth Museum’s Emerging Artist’s program, which showcases the works of New Jersey artists. A short while ago, they notified me that I was awarded an exhibition! Since I have an exhibition all ready from last year’s solo show in Pennsylvania, I offered to take the first slot available in the fall season. That turned out to be in August. So, I am frantically preparing for the exhibition now!"


"The title of the show is Capital Offenses, an exhibition of my political satire prints that I did from 2003 through 2014. These are political satire works, not fantasy, so I generally do not feature them on this blog. if you desire, you can see them on my site: MoneyArt.biz."


"I met recently with the museum’s director, PR coordinator, and their Arts & Development manager to discuss the show. I brought a few framed pieces (on the table) to show them my work in person, and we discussed the hanging of the show. In the background is the large, main wall in the gallery."

"This is the second-largest wall in the gallery. They gave me a plot of the room, but I measured the space myself to make sure of the usable wall space for the work."

"This is the third wall available for hanging work. In all, there is around 46 feet of usable space for my work. I am leaving out several of the works displayed in the Lock Haven show, which had 48 pieces! This space is a bit smaller, and I am making it a more focused show in terms of theme."

"Above is the plot of the room they gave me to plan the exhibit. I then plotted that out on graph paper, so I can accurately plan how many works will fit on the walls. The problem is, I will be at a wedding on the date of the hanging and planned opening! We had to move the opening reception from its planned date of August 9 to the new date of August 16."

"I will be selling two of my books at the museum, with book signings at both the opening reception on August 16, and at the artist’s talk on August 21. The talk will be an updated version of my talk at Lock Haven, with many additions and changes. The show is evolving and growing with time."


"Here is the schedule:

Opening Reception: Friday, August 16 from 6 to 8 pm (book signing) Artist’s Talk: Wednesday, August 21 from 7 to 8 pm (book signing)"


- Stephen Barnwell Blog Post


Stephen Barnwell is the newest anticipated spotlight artist of The Monmouth Museums ongoing NJ Emerging Artists Series, where he will be displaying his artwork under the exhibition title, Capital Offenses.


His exhibition will be available to view between the dates of August 6th, through September 8th, in the Monmouth Museums Nilson Gallery.

As he mentioned himself above, the Opening Reception will take place on Friday, August 16th from 6pm to 8pm, and his Gallery Talk will take place on Wednesday, August 21st from 7pm to 8pm, each including a book signing.


The Monmouth Museum is open Tuesday - Saturday from 10am - 5pm, and Sundays from 12pm - 5pm.


For more information, call 732-747-2266, or visit https://monmouthmuseum.org/in-the-galleries/nilson-gallery/


The Monmouth Museum is located at 765 Newman Springs Road, Lincroft, NJ 07738, on the campus of Brookdale Community College, in parking lot #1

2 views0 comments
bottom of page